TCFEE Excellence in Teaching Awards

Ten Tift County public school teachers were "tapped" this week as recipients of the Excellence in Teaching Award by the Tift County Foundation for Educational Excellence.  

Foundation representatives, school officials, and recipients' family members surprised the educators with the honor at their schools, in their classrooms. 

The teachers honored this week were: 

Kelly Merritt, Annie Belle Clark Elementary

K Merritt

Eve Rogers, Eighth Street Middle School


Brittany Kicklighter, Eighth Street Middle School


Noelle McCurdy, G O Bailey Elementary


Lisa Delk, Northeast Middle School


Zaronna Hamilton, Northeast Middle School


Paula Evans, Matt Wilson Elementary


Jill Crumley, Northside Elementary


Greta Simmons, Len Lastinger Elementary

Greta Simmons

Carl Nichols, Tift County High School


The teachers are nominated by a student, parent, peer or administrator.

“This is the 32nd straight year that the Tift County Foundation for Educational Excellence (TCFEE) has ‘tapped’ exceptional teachers in recognition of their outstanding performance in the classroom," said Laura Cutts, TCFEE executive director.  Honoring them is at the heart of the TCFEE’s mission.”

In the three plus decades that the Foundation has been recognizing  teachers of excellence  in Tift County public schools, 340 educators have been honored.